SuperSquirrels

Ross’ alarm goes off about 45-minutes earlier than mine each morning.  And, gracious husband that he is, he keeps his morning routine incredibly quiet, allowing me to catch a few extra winks before I start my day.  He keeps it quiet until it is time to become my alarm, that is.  And bless his heart, I press the snooze button every time.  Once he’s finally managed to get me to open my eyes, he heads to the other room and flips on Minnesota Public Radio.  The radio plays in the background as I get ready and stays on after Ross heads out the door. 

A few weeks ago I was alone with the radio when a special weather report came out of the speakers, into my brain, ripped out my sanity and said HOLD ONTO YOUR SORELS, KIDS, WINTER IS COMING AND IT’S GOING TO SUCK. BAD.

The most logical thing to do, of course, was to call Ross at work and freak out over the impending doom MPR just jump-started my day with.  

Katie: Do you know what I just heard on MPR?  EL NINA is coming.

Ross: La Nina.

Katie: Are you kidding me right now, Stedman?  Whatever, LA Nina is coming and the voice in that talking box just told me it means we’re in for an especially long and cold winter. 

Ross: (Sigh) Alright, I didn’t want to tell you this, but, I’ve been seeing signs.

Katie: Excuse me?

Ross: Early signs of a rough winter.  Lately I’ve been noticing the squirrels in the neighborhood have been especially active. 

Katie: You have got to be kidding me.

Ross: It’s TRUE, OK?  When the squirrels increase their activity level this early it’s because they’re preparing for a big, long winter. 

Katie: [............]

Ross: They’re stockin’ up.   I’m sorry.

So there you have it, folks.  Hyper-active squirrels, just like I promised

I’m still trying to decide what’s more fantastic: the fact that my husband uses squirrels to predict the weather?  Or the fact that held out as long as he could before telling me.

You can find SuperSquirrel’s origin here.
Leave a Reply

