Count Us In

Well, have you heard yet?  Have you? 2010 is a Census year and this month is when the main event goes down!

We got this baby in the mail yesterday:

I was pumped to see that oh-so-official envelope hit our mailbox.  Because, come on!  Have you seen the commercials?  This is a “Snapshot of America”, people!  And this is the first time I feel like I’m really gonna get my picture taken.

The last time the Census came around I was 14 years old.  At 14 I was included on somebody else’s form.  But now?  Big things have changed, now!  In the last ten years both Ross and I have become college educated, rented our own apartment and tied the knot!  In Ross’ words:

We’re gonna be super official now.  Like historical records, official.

I tore open the envelope  and got ready to make my mark on history when I saw:

What?  We just got a letter telling us we’re going to get another letter in a week?  Is this normal?  Did any of you who participated in the last Census get this same tease in the mail?  Maybe there is documented success behind this notice letter.  I suppose the people who aren’t glued to their televisions like I am might not even know this once-a-decade survey is on its way.  And futhermore…not eveyone has a television.

In any case, you can bet that when our actual form comes next week we’ll have our pencils ready.  And as long as I don’t have to check the “In jail or prison” box on question #10, I’ll consider our little addition to history a success.

(Image from US Census 2010)
6 thoughts on “Count Us In

  1. Pingback: Update! On the post: Count Us In « Husband, Wife and Modern Life

  2. I also understand your excitement, cannot wait to fill out our census! Does that make me a nerd? Or just an enthusiast for accuracy? =)

    My opinion on the “pre-letter”: that postage money could have been reallocated by the government towards other programs that need some funding, idk–soc sec, medicare/medicaid, health care in general, education, roads, new forms of transportation, cleaner energy sources, the national debt anyone??

  3. Thanks funny that you are so excited about the Census. I also thought the pre-letter was a bit ridiculous. WHY send me a letter about a upcoming letter? That’s like having meetings at work about other meetings.

  4. I’m so glad that I’m not the only one who was super excited to open the mailing from the census but also disappointed that I had to wait another week to actually fill it out. I’m pretty excited about the census and am glad to see that others are too!!!!

  5. Pingback: You’ve got (Awesome) Mail « Husband, Wife and Modern Life

  6. Pingback: For the Last Time « Husband, Wife and Modern Life

Leave a Reply

