Ice, Ice, Baby.

Several years ago, I heard something about the importance of having an emergency contact listed in your cell phone.  I most likely saw it on the Today Show.  We all know how I feel about following the advice of television personalities, so I imagine I reached for my cell phone the second after Matt Lauer rolled to commercial.

The idea was to add a contact to your phone under I.C.E. (In Case of Emergency) so that in case you were found unconscious or unable to speak, the emergency personnel assisting you would know who to call.  (Or in my case, if  someone discovers me passed out from that sugar coma I just fell into, the paramedics could find someone who had to claim at the hospital.)

So I thought this all sounded like a pretty great idea and was worth investing the mere 45 seconds it would take to add ICE to my phone.  Luckily at this point I had someone in my life (other than my mom) who was willing to offer up his contact info for the job.  Nothing helps bring up the so what exactly are we conversation quite like, “Hey! How would you feel about being responsible for me the next time I need my stomach pumped after a Doritos overdose?”  Ahh, love.

So now I have Ross listed as my In Case of Emergency contact.  And the last time I got a new phone, the contact list stayed intact but the phone decided to override Ross’ normal entry and display ICE whenever he calls.

Oh yeah. How cool is that?

If they’re not laughing hysterically, I have to imagine that when people see ICE come up on my screen they’re probably all,  ICE?  Whoa.  Do you think she knows Ice Cube? Ice-T? Vanilla Ice?  Ohh, the possibilities! This girl is bad. ass..

Meanwhile, Ross is most likely calling to complain that I left the curling iron plugged in again and thank God he came home before I burned down the house.

Anyway, in all seriousness, I do think the ICE program is a solid idea.  If you’re interested in learning more, you can read all about it on their website.  It just takes a minute to add the contact into your phone.  And as Ross says…nearly weekly:

“Safety never takes a vacation.”

Leave a Reply

