Iowans Anonymous..well, not anymore.

Hi.  My name is Katie and I am an Iowan.

Hi Katie.

Am I technically and Iowan anymore?  Probably not.  After more than two years in Minnesnowta I’m probably what you’d call a recovering Iowan.  Or maybe an Iowan in transition?  Not sure how many of my born-and-bred Minnesota friends would give let me use “Minnesotan” yet, but I’ll get there.

Before I moved up to the Twin Cities, I really had no idea how little respect my new state had for Iowa.  It doesn’t seem that Minnesotans necessary hate Iowa.  The eye-rolls and laughter come more from the fact that they see my home state as effectively useless.  Hey, what do you mean pigs don’t walk down the highway in Minnesota?

During our LDR (long-distance relationship) days, Ross would leave work on Fridays to come visit me in Des Moines.  And each time he would mention to a coworker that he was going to Iowa for the weekend the constant reply was “….Why?” complete with wide-eyed stare and horrified confusion. This “Why” wasn’t a polite, what brings you down there?. “Why” meant Why on God’s green earth would you give up a perfectly good weekend to spend it in the wasteland that is Iowa.

Apparently Ross was able to look past my geographic shortcomings.  Because we’re married now.  And there is no turning back.

I’ve done my part, I think, to assimilate to my new state.  I have a Minnesota driver’s license, Minnesota license plates and I’m even a registered Minnesota voter.  But there’s no love lost for The Hawkeye State in my heart…or on my chest, for that matter.

My most recent clothing purchase is proof positive that not only am I from Iowa, but Iowa still totally rules.  Last week I bought the “Decorah: Lutherans gone wild.” design from the grouping above.  (Decorah, of course, being home to the awesomest school in the whole wide world, Luther College).  A good Iowa-transplant friend of mine introduced me to the t-shirt’s maker when she first wore her “Des Moines:  Hell Yes.” tee.  And lest we forget how much I love my Snuggie, the shop has my back.  RAYGUN’s store is located in Des Moines, but if you’re not nearby, you can always find their amazingness online.

Check out RAYGUN’s awesome collection here, and read their recent write-up in the Des Moines register here.

Don’t Meth with Iowa.

Photos from RAYGUN
One thought on “Iowans Anonymous..well, not anymore.

Leave a Reply

